

# **BHP 2020 WOMEN IN RESOURCES NATIONAL AWARDS FINALISTS**

# Winners will be announced in an online award ceremony to be broadcast on YouTube at 3.30 pm AEST 16 September 2020

## Thiess Outstanding Australian Tradeswoman, Operator or Technician Award

The award recognises achievement in breaking new ground for women in non-traditional roles as well as resilience, achievement of goals and support for gender diversity.

- Alison Altree from BHP's Olympic Dam in South Australia
- Kim Burton from MMG's Rosebery mine in Tasmania
- Phillipa Dhagapan from Rio Tinto Gove Operations in the Northern Territory
- Conal Hearps from Peabody's Moorvale Mine in Queensland
- Peita Heffernan from Glencore's Bulga Coal in New South Wales
- Carmel Jenkinson from EnergyAustralia's Yallourn open cut coal mine in Victoria
- Jennifer Ward from Newmont's Boddington mine in Western Australia.

#### The inaugural Maptek Women in Resources Technological Innovation Award

This award highlights the innovative solutions that are being developed and applied to improve safety, boost efficiency and enhance productivity across the Australian resources sector.

- Ellie Barnes from Hastings Deering in Queensland for her project Digital Transformation Accelerator
- Priya Gore from BHP in Queensland for her project 4G Long Term Evolution
- Ellie Hawkins from CMOC-Northparkes Mines near Parkes in New South Wales for her project WebGen100
- Genéne Kleppe from Digital Twinning Australia in Adelaide for building a Dynamic Digital
  Twin
- Larnie Mackay from Anglo American's Moranbah North mine in Queensland for pioneering digitisation of underground coal mining.

#### St Barbara Excellence in Company Programs and Performance Award

This award recognises excellence and innovation in gender diversity programs and outstanding performance in increasing the proportion of women in the workplace.

- Linda Butterly from Energy Resources Australia for the 'Ranger Women's Network'
- Vanessa Davies from Compass Group for the 'Launch into Work program'
- Angus Jaffray from Santos for the 'Working Parents Support Program'
- Michelle Lawson from WIMNet NSW for its 'Mentoring Program'
- Suzannah D'Juliet from Hastings Deering for 'Together as One'

# Rio Tinto Gender Diversity Champion in Australian Resources Award

This award recognises excellence in the encouragement, promotion and advocacy for the attraction, retention and promotion of women within their company and/or the Australian resources sector.

- Shannon Bakes from Protech Group in Tasmania
- Adam Dunstan from South32 GEMCO in the Northern Territory
- Elizabeth Gaines from Fortescue Metals Group in Western Australia
- Brett Robins from Bell Bay Aluminium in Tasmania
- Jayson Smeeton from BHP in Brisbane
- Kate Swain from McCullough Robertson Lawyers in New South Wales.

## Newcrest Mining Exceptional Young Woman in Australian Resources Award

This award recognises an outstanding young woman who has shown significant promise and achieved significant milestones in her career to date. It also recognises her contribution to promoting the Australian resources industry's social licence to operate and increasing gender diversity in the sector.

- Vanessa Bullock from Woodside Energy's Karratha Gas Plant in Western Australia
- Sarah Gilmour from GHD's Engineering office in Launceston, Tasmania
- Maddy Grochowski from Syrah Resources in Victoria
- Ying Lou from Santos in South Australia
- Leah Miller from Yancoal Australia's Mount Thorley Warkworth mine in New South Wales
- Emma Williams from McArthur River Mine in the Northern Territory
- Kathryn Young from BHP's Peak Downs Mine in Moranbah.

## Dyno Nobel Exceptional Woman in Australian Resources Award

This award recognises exceptional achievement in any occupation, noting leadership skills, resilience, methods of overcoming barriers and seeking out and accepting new responsibilities and challenges. It also recognises work to promote the industry's social licence to operate.

- Kathryn Amos from The University of Adelaide
- Jo Best from Hastings Deering in Brisbane
- Estrelia Diaz from MMG's Rosebery mine in Tasmania
- Carrie Heaven from McArthur River Mine in the Northern Territory
- Rishelle Hume from Chevron Australia in Perth
- Sue Mills from Kirkland Lake Gold mine in Fosterville, Victoria
- Renata Roberts from The Bloomfield Group in the Hunter Valley in New South Wales.

# **<u>Register online</u>** to watch the online award ceremony to be broadcast on YouTube at 3.30 pm AEST 16 September 2020

Registration link: https://mca.eventsair.com/2020-women-in-resources-national-awards/registration

